The Cyprus Republic has introduced new passport control regulations that apply only to non-EU citizens.

The most important amendment stipulates that non-EU citizens entering the Republic with an intended duration of no more than 90 days, must hold a valid travel document, which must be valid for at least 3 months after the intended date of departure from the Republic (in a justified case of emergency this obligation may be waived) and which has been issued within the previous 10 years from the date of entry to the Republic.

The above regulation has been put in effect as of 19, July 2013.